LVMH announces the Finalists of the 2023 LVMH Prize

Luxury conglomerate Louis Vuitton has announced the names of 9 finalists for the tenth edition of its LVMH Prize for Young Designers.

The young designers were chosen from a pool of 22 semifinalists (selected from among 2,400 candidates) who presented their collections on March 2nd and 3rd at a showroom in Paris as well as on the digital platform

The nine finalists are:

AARON ESH by Aaron Esh, United Kingdom, menswear
BETTTER by Julie Pelipas, Ukraine, womenswear
BURC AKYOL by Burc Akyol, France, womenswear, menswear and genderless collections
DIOTIMA by Rachel Scott, Jamaica, womenswear
LUAR by Raul Lopez, United States, womenswear, menswear and genderless collections
MAGLIANO by Luca Magliano, Italy, menswear
PAOLINA RUSSO by Paolina Russo, Canada, and Lucile Guilmard, France, womenswear
QUIRA by Veronica Leoni, Italy, womenswear
SETCHU by Satoshi Kuwata, Japan, genderless collections

'The semi-final of the tenth edition of the Prize has highlighted a great maturity in the approach and work of the designers. Cultural diversity, celebration of traditional crafts and creative audacity define this selection. Naturally, the finalists are fully engaged in dealing with environmental issues and play with the boundaries between menswear and womenswear. Their expertise, their creativity, their uniqueness and their commitment have truly impressed me. I would like to thank all the Experts for their enthusiasm, their involvement and the attention they dedicated to discovering and appraising the work of the designers who took part in the semi-final. The Jury members and I look forward to seeing the nine shortlisted designers at the final at the Louis Vuitton Foundation,' said Delphine Arnault, founder of the LVMH Prize and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Christian Dior Couture.

The competing 9 candidates come from eight countries encompassing a great diversity of cultures and talents. They stand apart in their quest for excellence and represent the future of fashion. They will present their designs on June 7th at the Louis Vuitton Foundation to the Jury who will choose the winner of the LVMH Prize and the winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Prize.

The winner of this years' LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers will win a 300,000-euro prize and a one-year bespoke mentorship program provided by a dedicated LVMH team. The winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Prize receives a 150,000-euro allocation and also enjoys a one-year mentorship by LVMH teams.

This years' Committee of Experts include Jonathan Anderson, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Nicolas Ghesquiere, Marc Jacobs, Kim Jones, Nigo, Stella McCartney and Silvia Venturini Fendi, as well as Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie and Sidney Toledano.

Follow Fashion Model Directory on Linked In, Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook, and Twitter !